Middletown Public Schools Building Committee

MPS Symbol

Middletown Public Schools Building Committee

Mission Statement and Structure

Primary Mission of the Middletown Public Schools Building Committee

Ensure all Middletown School Facilities are healthy, safe, sustainable, resilient, support our educational programs, and foster a learning environment that allows our students and staff to achieve excellence. Ensure that all facilities are in full compliance with Federal, State, and Local requirements.

Structure and Terms

The structure of the Middletown Public School Building Committee is in accordance with the Rhode Island Department of Education (RIDE) School Construction Regulations 200-RICR-20-05-4. Terms of community members are to be determined, and as of now have no end date. There are currently three (3) members of the community, who all have architectural, engineering, and/or construction experience.


  • Co-Chair: Edward Brady, Community Member

  • Rosemarie Kraeger, Superintendent of Schools

  • Theresa M. Silveira Spengler, School Committee Chair

  • Tami Holden, School Committee Vice Chair

  • Poe George, MPS Director of Facilities, Local Official Responsible for Building Maintenance

  • Thomas P. Welch III, Town Council Member, Representative of the office or body authorized by law to construct school building in the municipality.

  • Donna Sweet, MHS Principal, School Principal Representative

  • Michelle Fonseca, Assistant Superintendent for Teaching and Learning (Member who has knowledge of education mission and function of the facility)

  • Shawn Brown, Town Administrator, Local budget official or member of the local finance committee

  • William Nash, Community Member

  • Gregory Huet, (Alternate) Member of School Committee

  • William R. O’Connell, (Alternate) Member of School Committee

  • Peter Connerton, (Alternate) Town Council Member

  • Georgia Fortunato, Special Education Consultant, (Alternate) Superintendent Representative

  • Bill Niemeyer, Gaudet Middle School Principal, (Alternate) School Principal Representative

  • Marc Tanguay, Town Finance Director, (Alternate) Local budget official

  • Don Morin, (Alternate) Community Member

  • Marc Thayer, (Alternate) Community Member


If you have a question, you can email the entire committee at BuildingCommittee@mpsri.net.